Teeswater’s Aaron Armstrong Honoured at HHOF

Today, Teeswater native Aaron Armstrong was honoured along with some of hockey’s greatest and former NHLer’s at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.  Thompson sent her congratulations to Aaron as he, alongside his family, teammates, players he coached and friends were at the Hall to formally accept his award.

Considered by many to be one of the toughest categories to compete in the OHA; Junior C Hockey has within it, 7 leagues and 64 teams who compete annually for the Schmalz Cup. No other category has as many leagues or teams that compete for Player of the Year selection.

For the first time in the history of the Association this young man will repeat as the winner of the OHA Junior C Player of the Year Award. The 20-year-old forward was instrumental in the success of his hockey club this season, given the role of Captain. With an outstanding work ethic, he was able to dominate over the opposition each and every game he was on the ice for. Setting a new Western Junior C Single Season Scoring Record, his 50 goals and 74 assists for 124 points in just 35 games is a feat that will be tough to match. In the post season he netted five goals and three assists in six games. With yet another successful season under his belt, he repeated as the Western Junior C Hockey League MVP award. As well as receiving the League’s Most Sportsmanlike Award. Off the ice, leadership is a key attribute for this young man;

  • He was recently hired with the Muskoka Woods Humanitarian Team as their new Athletic Director.
  • This past year while coaching the Teeswater Midget as the Head Coach he led his team to a WOAA and OMHA All Ontario Championship.
  • He was asked to attend a youth leadership conference in Toronto.

This Conestoga College Business student currently holds an academic average of 77 per-cent while being the face for hockey on his team and in his community. He is a truly gifted athlete, and a very humble human being. It gives me great pleasure to award for the first time ever the Junior C Player of the year award for the second consecutive season to Aaron Armstrong of the Wingham Ironmen.

Stay in Touch